Keep my session open?
Ending In 
The session is expired
Your session has expired. For your security, we have logged you out.
Would you like to log in again?

2016-2017 Science Olympiad Wind Turbine

Avg. Ratings: 1.8 (12 Reviews)
WINDTURBINE
Prepare for upcoming competitions with this practice kit, the only kits officially licensed and approved by Science Olympiad!

  • All Science Olympaid practice kits contain official event rules and introductory design suggestions
  • The winning model will be constructed by the student after they apply what they have learned from the practice kit
A newly developed testing device for the Science Olympiad Wind Turbine Event! Students attach CD and turbine blades to the tower. A motor embedded in the tower enables blade motion. Resistor measures 5.1 Ohms.

Ordering information: Blades and voltmeter are not included.



   
 

ORDER

Item # Description Unit Availability Price Quantity
470218-688 2016-2017 Science Olympiad Wind Turbine
Each Retrieving

WRITE A REVIEW

Need help?

  • Whatever you have to say, positive or negative, is important to us.
  • Providing feedback takes only seconds.
  • Your feedback will be made available to the public on the web.

WARDSCI.com will publish your name as wardsci.com user.
You can use this name, or edit and save a nickname.
We recommend authors use their first and last initial.

Please confirm your profession

Example: Education

Please confirm your role

Example: Teacher

Please confirm your location

Example: New York, NY

REVIEWS (12)

Total Ratings: 12
Avg. Ratings: 1.8 out of 5

Sort all by:

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Yes: 2 No: 0 
wardsci.com user Student / Student / Atlanta ga
No, I didn't recommend
This product is very very very very bad. The cd hub thing came damaged, it was missing the cd, and the blades
Reply
WARDSCI.com associate Published 07/31/2017
Thank you for your review. As seen on the website, we do not include the CD or material to build the blades. The reason being is that the blades can be designed using many different items so we do not want to steer competitors toward one type of material when many can be used. In regards to the brown item, we will email you separately requesting shipping information to send you another piece. Thank you for your review, your feedback is important.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Yes: 1 No: 0 
John B Education / SO Coach / Glenview Illinois
No, I didn't recommend
I tried zero stars but you need at least one to post.I should have read the reviews. The part that holds the disc does not hold the disk. It had sounded like a few of the complaints were addressed but I have made a few attempts and customer service will not respond to me about our issue. Right from day one we can't get the attachment to hold a disc. They drop right off. Obviously this is a defective part. My preference is that it be corrected, maybe I will get a response from this review. If not I will have to return it.
Reply
WARDSCI.com associate Published 07/31/2017
Dear Valued Customer, thank you for your review. We sent out a replacement piece several days ago and it is scheduled to be delivered by the end of the day today. We will email you personally with the tracking information since you did not receive the initial email. Thank you again for your review, your feedback is important.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Yes: 6 No: 1 
wardsci.com user enginner / parent / florida
No, I didn't recommend
CD mounting piece is very week. While shipping back plastic was broken. Super glued but very weak.
Reply
WARDSCI.com associate Published 07/31/2017
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that your CD hub arrived broken. We will be reaching out to you via email to obtain your address to ship out some replacement hubs free of charge. Thank you for your review, your feedback is important.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Yes: 11 No: 0 
CCA Science Olympiad Student / Science Olympiad Coach / San Diego, CA
No, I didn't recommend
The turbine is very poorly made. It is unstable (the whole thing shakes if you put a "good" set of blades on). Normally the stability wouldn't be an issue if the blades are built right, except that the CD attachment piece was wrong when it came. The replacement holds the CD, but is never orthogonal to the axis. The effect of the skew relative to the orthogonal axis compounds when a "good" set of blades are put on. The faster it spins the more off balance it becomes. We were recently informed that CalTech is using these for State Competition as the skew of the axis results in a large amount of variability. Now, because this is so poorly made I have to protest to the State Coordinators and ask them to use different devices. Considering Ward science is the "official" brand for SCIOLY I could not be more disappointed in the quality of the device. You are better off building your own.
Reply
WARDSCI.com associate Published 07/31/2017
If you are experiencing instability with your turbine, we would recommend tightening all points of contact as well as the hub and bushing onto the motor. The turbine works best when the hub is pushed tightly onto the motor with force. If you are still experiencing problems, please contact Customer Service to inquire about an exchange/return. Thank you for your review, your feedback is important to us.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Yes: 6 No: 4 
Jonathon Hubbert Education / Student / Huntsville, AL
Yes, I recommend
My kit was easy to complete and came faster than I expected. The only problem was the CD motor adapter was broken, I understand why many people are upset about this but Ward's customer service has been so patient and more than helpful. They have mailed me replacement parts overnight free of charge and honestly they have surpassed all of my expectations. If you have an issue with the product, Ward's will work quickly and effectively to fix it and I cannot be more surprised by their amazing customer service. I completely recommend the product and appreciate Ward's for all their help with my event this year.
Reply
WARDSCI.com associate Published 07/31/2017
Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure working with you to find a solution!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Yes: 7 No: 1 
wardsci.com user Education / Student / Huntsville, AL
No, I didn't recommend
I purchased a kit to save on the hassle of constructing my own turbine so I could focus on my blade design and Ward's has thoroughly disappointed me. I read all the reviews but as a Stats student I was hoping all the bad reviews were just the product of emotional response bias, where someone is more likely to post an opinion if they have a strong (usually negative) feeling towards the subject. This was a horrible oversight, my kit has just come in today and the CD to motor adapter is shattered into pieces. There is not enough time to send it back I am just gonna have to attend regionals with a ugly turbine with duct tape and glue securing the CD. DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT, THEY ARE HAVING MAJOR ISSUES WITH THE MANUFACTURING! Almost all the complaints are about the CD adapter.
Reply
WARDSCI.com associate Published 07/31/2017
We sincerely apologize that our 2015-2016 Science Olympiad Wind Turbine did not meet your expectations. After passing along your product review to our Category Manager, she has informed me that she is already working with you to remedy the situation. Thank you again for your feedback.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Yes: 7 No: 1 
wardsci.com user Secondary Education / Teacher / Wisconsin
No, I didn't recommend
I ordered 3 of these windmills for our Science Olympiad Team. After waiting for 3 weeks (not Wards' fault, it was the holidays) two of them arrived broken and 1/2 glued together. I was able to do a re-balancing of one of the generators and reconnecting of wires in the other broken windmill fairly easily, but for almost $90 for a purposed motor, PVC pipe and a small resistor I was expecting at least a little quality control. Do yourself a favor and just build this yourself for ~$15 in parts. Ward's - I'm not impressed. You normally have quality materials. I should have read the other reviews on this.
Reply
WARDSCI.com associate Published 07/31/2017
Thank you for your review. We apologize that your Science Olympiad Wind Turbine Kit broke in transit. We will reach out to you via email to address this and advise steps on an exchange for a new kit. In the future, please do not hesitate to contact us immediately for an exchange. Thank you for your review, your feedback is important.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Yes: 4 No: 3 
wardsci.com user Education  / Teacher / Michigan
Yes, I recommend
We also need the replacement CD as ours does not it on the turbine.
Reply
WARDSCI.com associate Published 07/31/2017
Thank you for your review. An error has been identified with the Wind Turbine Kit. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience. The incorrect CD attachment was included on the motor which doesn't allow the CD and turbine blades to clip in place. A replacement CD attachment is on order and will be shipped directly to you at no charge. At Ward's Science, we pride ourselves on providing quality products and superior customer service, we look forward to hearing from you in the future.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Yes: 8 No: 0 
wardsci.com user Education / Teacher/Science Olympiad Advisor / North Providence, RI
No, I didn't recommend
The wind turbine was shipped without any instructions. We only received the tubing (with wires inside) to create the base. Also, the CD does not fit onto the base. Suggestions?
Reply
WARDSCI.com associate Published 07/31/2017
I apologize for the issues you are having with your Science Olympiad Wind Turbine. This specific kit does not come with instructions. The students simply build their blades and test them on the tower provided in this kit. In regards to your CD fit issue, i will email you separately and troubleshoot this with you further. Thank you for your review, your feedback is important.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Yes: 8 No: 2 
wardsci.com user Education / Teacher / Rockville, Maryland
To the workers at Ward's Science, I'm a member at Tilden Middle School's Science Olympiad. My supervisor bought this wind turbine without knowing there is an error. We need a piece that can attach the CD to the turbine ASAP. Sincerely, Member of Tilden Middle School's Science Olympiad.
Reply
WARDSCI.com associate Published 07/31/2017
Thank you for your review. An error has been identified with the Wind Turbine Kit. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience. The incorrect CD attachment was included on the motor which doesn't allow the CD and turbine blades to clip in place. A replacement CD attachment is on order and will be shipped directly to you at no charge, the week of 12/14/2015. At Ward's Science, we pride ourselves on providing quality products and superior customer service, we look forward to hearing from you in the future.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Yes: 13 No: 0 
wardsci.com user Coach / Illinois
No, I didn't recommend
CD does not snap onto device. Thus the CD falls off rendering the testing device useless
Reply
WARDSCI.com associate Published 07/31/2017
Thank you for your review. An error has been identified with the Wind Turbine Kit. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience. The incorrect CD attachment was included on the motor which doesn't allow the CD and turbine blades to clip in place. A replacement CD attachment is on order and will be shipped directly to you at no charge, the week of 12/14/2015. At Ward's Science, we pride ourselves on providing quality products and superior customer service, we look forward to hearing from you in the future.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Yes: 11 No: 1 
wardsci.com user Parent / Coach / Reston, VA
No, I didn't recommend
Product was shipped 3 weeks after placing order and then when it finally arrived, it is missing a part which means the assembly does not hold a CD. Argghhh...
Reply
WARDSCI.com associate Published 07/31/2017
Thank you for your review. An error has been identified with the Wind Turbine Kit. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience. The incorrect CD attachment was included on the motor which doesn't allow the CD and turbine blades to clip in place. A replacement CD attachment is on order and will be shipped directly to you at no charge, the week of 12/14/2015. At Ward's Science, we pride ourselves on providing quality products and superior customer service, we look forward to hearing from you in the future.
 
Review & Compare Alternatives
We found alternative products that can save you up to  per item-unit.  To compare product details, select up to 3 alternatives below and click Compare Selected. To add items to your basket, enter a quantity and click Add to Basket.

Original Product:

Description Catalog Number Availability Unit Your Price Price Per Qty